Players by the Sea's Annual Pelican Awards Gives Recognition for the Year

Players by the Sea Celebrates a Successful Season with Annual Pelican Awards

PBTS’s Annual Pelican Awards Gives Due Recognition

Local theatre group Players by the Sea held its annual Pelican Awards celebration on Saturday, August 24, 2019 at its theatre in Jacksonville Beach, Florida. The festive evening began in the lobby at 6:00 pm with a meet- and-greet which included delicious food and assorted beverages. At 7:00 pm, the full-house crowd took their seats in the main auditorium and were treated to speeches, many happily-received awards, and stage entertainment, which included music and dancing.   

Players by the Sea's Annual Pelican Awards Gives Recognition for the Year

Henny Stewart, Players’ Repertory Chairperson, was the dynamic master of ceremonies, who introduced the presenters and the recipients of the awards; they received engraved glass plaques. Board President Kris Jackson and Production Manager Jereme Raickett presented a number of special awards.  The musical entertainment was provided by Theodore R. Canty, who recently portrayed the hilarious Donkey in Shrek, The Musical. A special award for their contributions to the theatre group was presented to Dave and Victoria Gowan

Players by the Sea's Annual Pelican Awards Gives Recognition for the Year

Players has had an exciting and successful season under the leadership of Executive Director Suzanne Hudson-Smith, and we are looking forward to the new season, which begins this September with The Wiz and concludes next June The Hunchback of Notre Dame.

Players by the Sea's Annual Pelican Awards Gives Recognition for the Year



Best Actor in a Play

Tyler Hammond- True West

Best Actress in a Play

Cathy Obrien- Noises Off 

Best Actor in a Musical

Joshua Bond- Shrek The Musical

Best Actress in a Musical

Raquel Lopez Clory- The Wild Party

Best Supporting Actress in a Musical

Marquia Presley- The Color Purple

Toni Diamond Bingham- The Color Purple

Michelle C. Grant- The Color Purple

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical

Alec Haddon- Shrek the Musical

Best Supporting Actor in a Play

Christopher Watson- Noises Off

Best Supporting Actress in a Play

Denna Davis- Pontypool

Best Play

True West

Best Musical

The Color Purple

Best Costume Design

Amy Hancock- The Wild Party

Best Lighting Design

Daniel Dungan- The Color Purple 

Best Set Design

Bradley Akers- True West 

Outstanding Choreography

Niki Stokes- The Wild Party

Outstanding Musical Direction

Zeek Smith- The Bridges of Madison County 

Best Direction of a Play

Brian Niece- True West

Best Direction of a Musical

Jereme Raickett- The Color Purple 

Ensemble of the Year 

The Wild Party

Best Sound Design 

Brian Niece- True West 

Honoring PBTS Emerging Young Adult Actress

Kailey Hendry

Honoring PBTS Player of the Year

Baron Tetzlaff

Honoring PBTS Backstage Volunteer of the Year

Kristin Livingston

Chinua Richardson

Jennifer Balestra

Jackie Jantzen

Honoring PBTS Front of the House Volunteer of the Year

Ben Sparenberg

Nina Williams 

Jackie Jantzen

Honoring PBTS Stage Managers 

Jennifer Balestra- Shrek the Musical

Jackie Jantzen- The Wild Party & The Color Purple

Jennifer O’Brien- The Bridges of Madison County

Peggy McGuinness- Barry Bianchi & Winter and I

Gayle Featheringill- Noises Off

Kristin Livingston- True West

Mae Davis- Pontypool

About Dick Kerekes & Leisla Sansom

The Dual Critics of EU Jacksonville have been reviewing plays together for the past nine years. Dick Kerekes has been a critic since 1980, starting with The First Coast Entertainer and continuing as the paper morphed into EU Jacksonville. Leisla Sansom wrote reviews from time to time in the early 80s, but was otherwise occupied in the business world. As a writing team, they have attended almost thirty Humana Festivals of New America Plays at Actors Theatre in Louisville, Kentucky, and many of the annual conferences sponsored by the American Theatre Critics Association, which are held in cities throughout the country. They have reviewed plays in Cincinnati, Chicago, Miami, Sarasota, Minneapolis, Orlando, New York, Philadelphia, Sarasota, San Francisco, Shepherdstown, and The Eugene O’Neill Center in Waterford, Massachusetts. They currently review about one hundred plays annually in the North Florida area theaters, which include community, college, university, and professional productions.