Peach State Summer Theatre is Back! Since 1990 Theatre Professionals Head to Valdosta for a 10-Week Summer Season

A few hours down the road you’ll find Peach State Summer Theatre, Valdosta, Georgia’s premiere professional summer stock theatre. Each summer, a company of some 60 actor-singers, dancers, technicians, managers, and creators will reside in Valdosta for a ten-week season. During that time, they will rehearse, build and present three musicals in rotating repertory. Valdosta State University has produced professional summer musical theatre since 1990.

MAMMA MIA!

(June 7 – Jul 20)

Music and lyrics by Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus. ABBA’s hits tell the hilarious story of a young woman’s search for her birth father. This sunny and funny tale unfolds on a Greek island paradise. On the eve of her wedding, a daughter’s quest to discover the identity of her father brings three men from her mother’s past back to the island they last visited 20 years ago. The story-telling magic of ABBA’s timeless songs propels this enchanting tale of love, laughter and friendship, creating an unforgettable show. MAMMA MIA! contains some PG-language and themes and parental guidance is encouraged.

Mamma Mia at PSST!
  • Friday, June 7, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Saturday, June 8, 2019 @ 7:30 PM; Pay What You Can performance

  • Saturday, June 15, 2019 @ 7:30 PM; this performance will be interpreted in American Sign Language for the deaf

  • Sunday, June 16, 2019 @ 3:00 PM

  • Sunday, June 23, 2019 @ 3:00 PM

  • Saturday, June 29, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Wednesday, July 3, 2019 @ 7:30 PM; Sing-Along!

  • Friday, July 5, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Wednesday, July 10, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Friday, July 12, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Sunday, July 14, 2019 @ 3:00 PM

  • Wednesday, July 17, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Saturday, July 20, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

LITTLE WOMEN The Broadway Musical

(June 21 – July 20)

Based on Louisa May Alcott’s American classic, this Civil War story of love and family stands the test of time. LITTLE WOMEN, like the novel and numerous film and television adaptations, contains serious themes and is a show families can enjoy with parental discretion.

  • Friday, June 21, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Saturday, June 22, 2019 @ 7:30 PM; Pay What You Can performance

  • Sunday, June 30, 2019 @ 3:00 PM; this performance will be interpreted in American Sign Language for the deaf

  • Wednesday, July 3, 2019 @ 2:00 PM;

  • Saturday, July 6, 2019 @ 2:00 PM

  • Wednesday, July 10, 2019 @ 2:00 PM

  • Thursday, July 11, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Saturday, July 13, 2019 @ 2:00 PM

  • Thursday, July 18, 2019 @ 10:30 AM, morning matinee

  • Saturday, July 20, 2019 @ 2:00 PM

CRAZY FOR YOU 

(June 28 – July 21)

Music and Lyrics by George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin and book by Ken Ludwig. A zany rich-boy-meets-hometown-girl romantic comedy, CRAZY FOR YOU tells the story of young New York banker Bobby Child, who is sent to Deadrock, Nevada, to foreclose on a rundown theatre. In Deadrock, Bobby falls for spunky Polly Baker, the theatre owner’s daughter. But Polly takes an instant dislike to the city slicker, so Bobby vows – through cunning, razzmatazz, and a hilarious case of mistaken identity – to win Polly’s heart and save the theatre. Memorable Gershwin tunes from the score include ‘I Got Rhythm,’ ‘Naughty Baby,’ ‘They Can’t Take That Away from Me,’ ‘Embraceable You,’ ‘But Not for Me,’ ‘Nice Work if You Can Get It,’ and ‘Someone to Watch Over Me.’

  • Friday, June 28, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Saturday, June 29, 2019 @ 2:00 PM

  • Thursday, July 4, 2019 @ 2:00 PM; Pay What You Can performance

  • Saturday, July 6, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Sunday, July 7, 2019 @ 3:00 PM

  • Thursday, July 11, 2019 @ 2:00 PM; this performance will be interpreted in American Sign Language for the deaf

  • Saturday, July 13, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Wednesday, July 17, 2019 @ 2:00 PM

  • Thursday, July 18, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Friday, July 19, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

  • Sunday, July 21, 2019 @ 3:00 PM

Peach State Summer Theatre, Valdosta State

Get more information and tickets at www.valdosta.edu/colleges/arts/communication-arts/psst/

About Liza Mitchell

october, 2021

X
X