highway gallery

The Highway Gallery began in 2012 in conjuction with Clear Channel of Jacksonville as a special, juried exhibit, providing a dynamic, accessible venue for selected Jacksonville artists. The show’s success inspired the creation of an ongoing public art project curated by the gallery, as well as this year’s juried show. The opening will be held at 7 pm on August 2nd, at Florida Mining gallery, where the works by the nine selected artists can be seen in person through September 19th. They will also continue to be displayed on digital billboards throughout the city (locations vary) for the next 12 months, transforming space typically used for commerce into artworks.
This year’s nine selected artists represent a broad spectrum of media, including painting, drawing, printmaking and photography. The selected artists are: Nathaniel Artkart Price, Ashley C. Waldvogel, Brianna Angelakis, Christina Foard, Ken Daga, Linda Olsen, Sara Pedigo, and Zach Fitchner. Additionally, Russell Maycumber is this year’s Director’s Pick.