Theatre Jacksonville 2010-11 Volunteer Awards

Each August, Theatre Jacksonville holds its annual meeting and volunteer awards celebration. This year on August 7, it was held in Currents Riverview Bistro in the Aetna building on Prudential drive and catered by Anthony’s Gourmet Catering.
TJ’s Executive Director Sara Boone, as the acting master of ceremonies, introduced outgoing President of the Board, Kristen Majdanics for a recap of the past year. The good news is that Theatre Jacksonville finished in the black once again, a stellar achievement for any arts group today. In addition to adding new members to their subscription base, several significant accomplishments were noted. Theatre Jacksonville held its first ever 24-hour playwriting competition that was well received and very successful. A cabaret style fund raiser featuring songs from Sarah Boone’s most recent New York cabaret appearance was a sellout and raised $14, 000 for Theatre Jacksonville. Educational Coordinator Juan Unzueta’s 2nd annual Junior Main Stage Season for young actors was once again very successful.
New board members were presented for a vote of approval by the attending season subscribers, and Paul Price was selected as the incoming president. In addition, President Majdanics recognized and praised the remarkable contributions of the 647 volunteers, who put in some 15,000 hours throughout the last season. Thanked, also, were the many groups and corporate sponsors for their financial support this past year.
After an interesting and delicious array of food by Anthony’s, Ms. Boone presented the Volunteer & Acting awards for the past season.
Front of House & Office Support – Ken McEnery
Technical & Backstage Support – Kim Schnepf
Outstanding Teen Volunteer – Miles Para
Outstanding All Around Volunteer – Bill Poland
Outstanding performance by an Actress in a leading role (Tie) – Marybeth Antionette as Becca in Rabbit Hole & Cee Cee Hayes as Mary in “The Champagne Charlie Stakes”
Actor in a leading role – Geoffrey King as Man in Chair in The Drowsy Chaperone
Actress in a Supporting Role – Toni D’Amico as Nat in Rabbit Hole
Actor in a Supporting Role – Jason Collins as E. K. Hornbeck in Inherit the Wind
Outstanding costumes by Tracy Olin for The Drowsy Chaperone. Outstanding Set by Kelly Wagoner for Romeo and Juliet. Outstanding Properties and Set Dressing for A Vampire Reflects by Kelly Wagoner, Miles Papa and Phillip Grow. Outstanding Lighting Design by Jeff Wagoner for Inherit the Wind. Outstanding Sound Design by Curtis Williams for The Drowsy Chaperone.
Chosen as the Outstanding Production for the 2010-2011 season – The Drowsy Chaperone directed by Dave Alan Thomas.
Theatre Jacksonville has another outstanding season for its 92nd year, opening with Thornton Wilder’s classic Our Town on August 19. For more information, call 396-4425 or visit